The Barsoom Series by Edgar Rice Burroughs

Edgar Rice Burroughs [born: 1875 September 1. Died: 1950 March 19] was an American author who wrote in several genres, mostly leaning toward positive escapist adventure yarns. His most famous creation is the jungle man Tarzan.

Barsoom is Mr Burroughs vision of Mars as an exotic world slowing sinking towards its eternal slumber. Barsoom is populated by various intelligent species, both human and non-human who vie for the dwindling resources of the dying planet.

Enter John Carter (aka Captain Jack Carter, C.S.A. and gentleman of the State of Virginia), an Earthman transported to Mars by some strange type of astral projection from his dying body on Earth. Once on Barsoom our Earthly hero quickly begins to show his physical and moral superiority by joining together groups that have been warring against one another for generations. All to rescue his love Dejah Thoris, a Princess of Helium, the greatest of the Barsoom city states.

The Barsoom novels, in fact all of Burroughs works, are ethnically challenged (to put it in politically correct terms). If you read for content and ignore the archaic terminology used through-out his writings there is little if any real prejudice in his stories. On a cursory read they can sound prejudice and bigoted, but this is because Burroughs is as much a product of his time as we are of ours. That John Carter, a Captain in the Confederate States of America, would ever become a fast and good friend of a member of the race of the black men of Mars, not to mention the green men, red men and yellow men, was--for its time--very liberal.

Anyway here are the stories in order (the real reason I blogging this as I can never remember the correct order).

Barsoom series (aka John Carter of Mars series)

A Princess of Mars (1912) at Project Gutenberg

The Gods of Mars (1914) at Project Gutenberg

The Warlord of Mars (1918) at Project Gutenberg

Thuvia, Maid of Mars (1920) at Project Gutenberg

The Chessmen of Mars (1922) at Project Gutenberg

The Master Mind of Mars (1928) at Project Gutenberg

A Fighting Man of Mars (1931) at Project Gutenberg

Swords of Mars (1936) at Project Gutenberg

Synthetic Men of Mars (1940) at Project Gutenberg

Llana of Gathol (1948) at Project Gutenberg

John Carter of Mars (1964) consists of two shorter pieces:
"John Carter and the Giants of Mars" (1940) at Project Gutenberg
"Skeleton Men of Jupiter" (1942) at Project Gutenberg